Socio-Technical Modeling, Control, and Optimization for Urban Mobility

Seminar | March 21 | 10-11 a.m. | 3110 Etcheverry Hall

 Dr. Anuradha Annaswamy, Active-Adaptive Control Laboratory, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 Department of Mechanical Engineering (ME)

Abstract: Urban mobility in Transportation is witnessing a transformation due to the emergence of new concepts in Mobility on Demand, where new modes of transportation other than private individual cars and public mass transit are being investigated. With a projection of a total number of 2 billion vehicles on roads by the year 2050, such innovations in transportation are urgently needed. One such paradigm is the notion of shared mobility on demand, which consists of customized dynamic routing for multi-passenger transport. A solution to this problem consists of a host of challenges that ranges from distributed optimization, behavioral modeling of passengers, traffic flow modeling, and distributed control. Recent efforts in our group have made some inroads into this problem and form the focus of this talk. A socio-technical model that combines behavioral models of passengers based on Cumulative Prospect Theory and traffic models will be discussed. The solution to dynamic routing is presented in the form of an optimization problem solved via an Alternating Minimization based approach. The model together with the optimization framework is then used to propose a dynamic tariff that can be viewed as a model-based control strategy based on Transactive Control, a methodology that is being explored in power grids for incentivizing flexible consumption.

Biography: Dr. Anuradha Annaswamy is Founder and Director of the Active-Adaptive Control Laboratory in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at MIT. Her research interests span adaptive control theory and its applications to aerospace, automotive, and propulsion systems as well as cyber physical systems such as Smart Grids, Smart Cities, and Smart Infrastructures. Her current research team of 15 students and post-docs is supported at present by Air-Force Research Laboratory, Boeing, Ford-MIT Alliance, Department of Energy, and NSF.

Dr. Annaswamy has received several awards including the George Axelby (1986) and Control Systems Magazine (2010) best paper awards from the IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS), the Presidential Young Investigator award from NSF (1992), the Hans Fisher Senior Fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Study at the Technische Universität München (2008), the Donald Groen Julius Prize from the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (2008). Dr. Annaswamy has been elected to be a Fellow of the IEEE (2002) and IFAC (2017). She received a Distinguished Member Award and a Distinguished Lecturer Award from IEEE CSS in 2017., 510-642-4804