Arif Anwar | The Storm: A Novel

Reading - Literary | February 21 | 5-7 p.m. | Stephens Hall, 10 (ISAS Conf. Room)

 Arif Anwar, Author

 Sanchita Saxena, Director, Subir and Malini Chowdhury Center for Bangladesh Studies; Executive Director, Institute for South Asia Studies

 The Subir & Malini Chowdhury Center for Bangladesh Studies, Institute for South Asia Studies, Blum Center for Developing Economies, The InFEWS Program at the Blum Center, Master of Development Practice, Berkeley Center for Social Medicine, Division of Epidemiology

The Subir & Malini Chowdhury Center for Bangladesh Studies at UC Berkeley is honored to welcome Dr. Arif Anwar, author of The Storm, a novel that covers fifty years of Bangladeshi history in five love stories.

Abut the Book
Inspired by the 1970 Bhola Cyclone, in which half a million people perished overnight, The Storm seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle fifty years of Bangladeshi history.

Shahryar, a recent Ph.D. graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. As father and daughter spend their last remaining weeks together, Shahryar tells Anna the history of his country, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his Hindu wife, who converted to Islam out of love for him, are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. Their story intersects with those of a Japanese fighter pilot, a British female doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, a Buddhist monk originally from Austria, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leave everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. The structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself – building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes as it explores the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another.

At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm is a sweeping epic in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance by an immensely talented new voice in international fiction.

About the Author
Arif Anwar was born in Chittagong, Bangladesh, just miles from the Bay of Bengal. He previously worked for BRAC, one of the world’s largest non-governmental organizations, on issues of poverty alleviation, and for UNICEF Myanmar on public health issues. Arif has a PhD in education from the University of Toronto. He currently lives in Toronto with his wife, Si (Sandra) Lian. The Storm is his first novel.

NOTE
This event is taking place in conjunction with the 2nd Chowdhury Center-LSE Bangladesh Summit on Friday, Feb 22, 2019. Please click HERE for further details.
___________________

Established in 2013 with a generous gift from the Subir & Malini Chowdhury Center for Bangladesh Studies at UC Berkeley champions the study of Bangladesh’s cultures, peoples and history. The first of its kind in the US, the Center’s mission is to create an innovative model combining research, scholarships, the promotion of art and culture, and the building of ties between institutions in Bangladesh and the University of California.

Like us on FACEBOOK
Follow us on TWITTER

For DIRECTIONS to the Center please enter "Institute for South Asia Studies" in your google maps or click this GOOGLE MAPS LINK. The Chowdhury Center is housed within the Institute.

PARKING INFORMATION
Please note that parking is not always easily available in Berkeley. Take public transportation if possible or arrive early to secure your spot.

The event is FREE and OPEN to the public.

 isas@berkeley.edu, 510-642-3608