Architecture Prizes & Awards Ceremony

Reception | May 13 | 3:30-4:30 p.m. | 112 Wurster Hall

 College of Environmental Design

The ceremony honoring the recipients of this year's Prizes & Awards in the Department of Architecture will be held Saturday, May 13. The College is the proud home to some of the most committed and creative students at UC Berkeley. Each year we honor their extraordinary accomplishments with special awards for excellence with competitive and nominative awards. Come celebrate the remarkable achievements and future promise of our students. Below are the recipients.

2016 Architecture Prizes and Award Winners

Bakewell/Brown & Bakewell/Weihe
The Bakewell/Brown and Bakewell/Weihe Prize is offered for the best drawings of decorative detail or ornament in architecture.

Shihao Huang
Tam Tran

Branner Fellowship
The John K. Branner Traveling Fellowship supports independent travel in exploration of a particular architectural question or issue.

Neal Barbar
Elizabeth Clifton
Chris Detjen
Nicholas Harvey-Cheetham
Isabella Warren-Mohr

Chester Miller Fellowship
The Chester Miller Fellowship supports travel for thesis related research during the break between the Fall and Spring semesters of the current academic year.

Esther Mackenzie
Albert Orozco
Anna Pangestu Phe

Ciampi Prize
The Mario Ciampi Art in Architecture Award recognizes studio-based work within the architecture graduate program at UC Berkeley demonstrating outstanding artistic merit.

Elizabeth Clifton
Albert Orozco

Design Workshops Prize
The Design Workshops Prize for Practical Construction seeks to promote the use of technology and to create a focus on the practical aspects of construction.

I-Ting Tina Lee
Jake Han

Eisner Prize in Architecture
The Eisner Prize recognizes outstanding creative achievement in design.

Sean Nakamura Dolan
Zhifei Xu
Keenan Gravier
Nicholas Harvey-Cheetham

Henry Adams Certificate/Medal

Edwin O'Brien
Kristen Too

Kostof Fellowship
The Spiro Kostof Fellowship was established in 1994 in memory of Spiro Kostof, a professor and renowned architectural historian who taught at CED for many years. Each year, this fellowship is given to incoming Ph.D. candidates whose work concentrates on architectural history.

Ettore Santi

Sandy Hirshen Prize
The Sandy Hirshen Prize is offered annually to an architecture undergraduate or graduate student whose interests and activities are linked to socially responsible architecture.

Avani Shree Kanoria

Sooky Lee Prize

Ziang Ao
Santiago Vales
Lerena Zhao

Harold Stump Memorial Travel Fellowship

Kristen Too

T.Y. Lin
The T.Y. Lin Prize is awarded either annually or every other year (depending on funding) to students who wish to pursue joint studies in architecture and engineering.

Ziang Ao

Alpha Rho Chi
The Alpha Rho Chi prize honors a graduating senior who has shown an affinity for leadership, performed willing service for the department, and gives promise of real professional merit through his or her attitude and personality.

Julian Daly

Department Citation

Gulzeb Fatima

Gerson Memorial Prize
The Gerson Memorial Prize recognizes one graduating student for overall design excellence as exhibited through his or her coursework. Students are nominated for this prize by members of the architecture faculty.

Ashley Hickman

AIA San Francisco Howard Friedman Scholarship
Howard Friedman Scholarship is awarded each year to an undergraduate student in recognition of scholastic achievement and commitment to the advancement of procedures and methods of architectural practice.

Aboubacar Komara

JLS Travel Scholarship
The Judith Lee Stronach Travel Scholarships are open to undergraduates in all departments at CED and are meant to encourage the study of new places, cultures, and peoples, as well as commitment to social responsibility.

Brandon Eickhoff
Haruka Enokido
Isabela Mesquita
Kei Takanami
Xin Yu

Michael Ho Memorial Traveling Fellowship
The income from the Michael Ho Endowed Scholarship Fund is to be used to award an annual travel scholarship to an undergraduate in his or her junior year majoring in architecture at CED.

Isabela Mesquita
Stephanie Tang

Ray Watson Best Project Prize
The Raymond L. Watson Best Project Prize is given to undergraduate students whose ENV DES 11A/B projects "connect the practice of architecture to a larger body of knowledge beyond that imparted by the architecture curriculum."

Daniel Chang
Loretta Koch
Leah Lock

William Stout Prize in Architectural History

Loretta Koch
Stephanie Tang